“Practice Makes Perfect” ♥ ☺

Cosmetology is one of the passions. I love everything about it: the hair, the makeup, the nails, and even the massages. I was one of the lucky few who got accepted in the cosmetology program for free in Durfee High School.  When I started cosmetology I had no idea what it really was. I just thought it was straightening or curling hair, but it was more to it than just that. My main goal was passing the class and getting my cosmetology license.

 

I started cosmetology when I was a sophomore in high school. We read in class every day and took a test every week. I was pretty upset because the tests were hard and all I wanted to do was hair not book work. Every week I got my tests back and I always scored low. Out of the five days we were, in school, three of them were book work days and the other two days were hands on and tests days. Every hands on I passed but I failed the tests. The teacher spoke to me and told me, “KEICHA, in order for you to stay on this class and pass it, you need to do well in both hands on and book work.” My heart dropped when she told me that because I really wanted to be in that class, so I decided to study harder for my tests. Every night I read over the chapter study guides she gave us and I answered all the questions at the end of every chapter. My grades started to improve every week and I passed the class that year with a B.

 

I took cosmetology until I graduated. I had to complete a thousand hours to pass the overall course and to be able to go for my license. Junior year was a lot different from sophomore year. Now instead of being in cosmetology for one period now I had to be there three periods. This time it was less book work in class and more hands on but we were responsible to read the chapters and complete our study guides for homework to go over them briefly in class. We still had tests every week but, now the tests where longer and harder. I started scoring low, but I stepped it up fast. Every night I studied harder to score higher on my tests. The hands on work was getting more serious, and we were being judge harder. Every little hair sticking up affected our grades. When we straightened hair it had to be paper thin with no frizz. Sometimes it was hard for me because the straighteners weren’t that great, so I bought my own. When I used the new straightening iron, my grades when up. Hearing the teacher criticize your work every time was hard. Many times I wanted to give up, but her criticisms were what made me work harder so that all I would hear out of her mouth was, “good job.” Every day I went home and told my mom what I did in class and how hard the teacher was on us and she always told me, “I love you and I’m very proud of you. I will always be here to support you in anything but always remember that to get what you want in life you have to fight hard to get it, and most importantly never give up.”

 

My junior and senior years were harder and tougher. I had to focus on passing the course and completing my thousand hours. Being absent affected the hours we had to complete in the course. I always tried to be in class as much as I could even stayed after school to make up hours. We were now accepting clients outside of school to perform on them what we had learned with the supervision of the teacher. I became more and more nervous at that time. I asked myself, was I going to mess up? Was I going to be able to do it? I still remember the first haircut I gave to my first client. My palms were sweating, my knees were trembling, and I was extremely nervous. I wanted to tell the teacher that I couldn’t do it, but I already knew what she was going to say. All I heard in my mind was her telling me “You’ll never know if you don’t try, practice makes perfect.” I had to dye my clients hair black and I used every drop left in the bottle making sure I did great job. After dying it I had to cut it in layers, which meant I had to lift up the hair in a 180 degree angle. I went over and over every part of hair making sure I didn’t leave any behind. I really took my time with her hair, even when I had to straighten it, which I was already good at. The client and the teacher were both amazed and happy with my work. My hopes in succeeding in cosmetology immediately grew and it felt great.  Every day after that went buy as usual I had my struggles and my achievements. I learned that not everything comes out perfect at the first try.

 

Every moment in that class was amazing, It really taught me a lot. So many times l felt like giving up, but my faith kept me going. I can say that my persistence got me to pass the class and become a licensed hairstylist today. I learned to never give up because when you want it, you fight for it, and when you fight for it you get it. I always keep in mind what my teacher told me a million times, “practice makes perfect.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *